Hylton Performing Arts Center

Skip to Content

Season Event

China National Symphony Orchestra

  • February 9, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Merchant Hall

Li Xincao, conductor
Peng Peng, piano

Guan Xia: Requiem for the Earth, Mvt. I
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1
Beethoven: Symphony No. 7

One of the outstanding professional orchestras in China, this revered ensemble is renowned for its splendid artistry, tremendous dedication, and consummate professionalism. Founded in 1956, the China National Symphony Orchestra has spent the last half century promoting Chinese symphonic works to audiences across the globe while introducing Chinese audiences to an expansive repertoire of orchestral works by both Western and Asian composers. “A mature group with a vital sound,” says the London Times. Its award-winning ensemble of musicians have performed with such world renowned conductors as Seiji Ozawa, Kurt Masur, and Leonard Slatkin, and such instrumentalist luminaries as Yo-Yo Ma, Lang Lang, and Isaac Stern. The orchestra will perform the opening movement from Guan Xia’s Requiem for the Earth, written in remembrance of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake and Beethoven’s joyful Symphony No. 7.   Prodigy pianist, Peng Peng, proclaimed by San Diego Arts to be “the real thing – an artist of both physical skill and intellectual insight.” joins the orchestra for Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1.

*Programming subject to change

This performance is generously sponsored by Evelyn and Tom Kiley.

$60, $52, $44